Since its inception in 1965, the Arkansas River Valley Area Council (ARVAC), Inc. has been dedicated to building a diverse portfolio of services to meet the needs of low-income families in the region. We serve a nine-county area in the Arkansas River Valley, including Conway, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Scott, Perry, Polk, Pope, and Yell counties.

Established as part of President Johnson’s War on Poverty to eliminate the pervasive indigence existent in Central Arkansas, particularly within the counties that we serve, ARVAC’s programs have consistently been shaped around providing residents access to resources that increase self-sufficiency and provide opportunities to move into the middle class.

Mission Statement

ARVAC, Inc. promotes self-sufficiency and provides pathways out of poverty for individuals, families, and communities.


ARVAC is committed to providing thoughtfully designed services to children and families. Our approach is proven to demonstrate several pathways out of poverty through high-quality, comprehensive programming. Our vision for education, health, and additional services is that the individuals, families, and communities who partner with us will be fully prepared economically succeed.

Board of Directors

Judge Ben Cross – President
Clayton Caldwell – Vice President
Cindy Bowman – Secretary
Lyn Liberty-Ellington – Treasurer
Judge Toby Davis
Mayor Allen Lipsmeyer
Judge Mark Thone
Judge James Forbes
Judge Rickey Bowman
Celia Carter
Connie Gragg
Donna Murphy
Genita Whiting
Dr. Alice Hines
Dr. Lee Lane
Josh Dunkle


There are many ways to get involved. Click below to help change lives.


You can help! Support the Arkansas River Valley Now!


Get In Touch

Telephone: (479) 219-5292

FAX: (479) 219-5296

227 SR 333

Russellville, AR 72802